Check password against policy

Last Post 08 Jul 2007 10:49 AM by rsavage. 3 Replies.
AddThis - Bookmarking and Sharing Button Printer Friendly
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Sort:
PrevPrev NextNext
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages
desperado

--
03 Jan 2007 06:41 AM
Is there a means to check a password to see if it meets the password policy?

Even though I am a member of the SysAdmin, I do not necessarily create / manage the SQL logins on our servers. Nor I do not have access to many SQL server login passwords to check whether thy comply with our password policy.

Knowing that SQL 2005 has the posiibility of checking the passwords against the policy if the option is turned on, I tried scripting logins and password (see MSKB 246133 which I modified for SQL2005) from a SQL 2000 box to run the create login scripts on a SQL 2005 box with the CHECK POLICY = ON option.

It could not analyse the password because of the way the script is built.

I was looking for a way to write a simple T-SQL script to help me gererate a report and present it to developers (who control the passwords) to show them those accounts that do not meet the policy.

For example, I was hopijng that this script would ck<heck whether the existing password met the password policy:

alter login TestLogin with CHECK_POLICY = ON

Is there a way to make this possible?
jagsandhu

--
20 Feb 2007 08:23 AM
Hi There,

As you know SQL server logins will get the policy from the group policies of your domain. If your domain policy enforces password expiration for accounts, you can configure your existing logins to have the password policy on.

This will force the sql logins to change the password after a certain period of time and ensure all the new passwords comply with the domain group policies.

ALTER LOGIN loginname WITH CHECK_EXPIRATION=ON, CHECK_POLICY=ON

regards

Jag
jagsandhu

--
20 Feb 2007 08:57 AM