Restore System DBs to another server

Last Post 07 Jul 2009 02:58 AM by yupsay. 3 Replies.
AddThis - Bookmarking and Sharing Button Printer Friendly
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Sort:
PrevPrev NextNext
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages
dbbyleo

--
24 Mar 2003 07:47 AM
Hi Guys...I'm new to SQL and have been mostly an Oracle DBA. I'm starting to support SQL at work and what I am basically trying to do is to restore my SQL Server 2000 to another server. I am assuming this is a practical thing to do.

Scenario: serverA is our production SQL server. I take full backups of the master, msdb, model, and all the user databases to tape. serverA burns down. We setup serverB with the same configuration with the exception of the file structure not being the same...otherwise - memory, CPU, etc are all the same. We installed a fresh copy of SQL Server 2000 on serverB and patched it to the same level as before (SP3).

Based on a doc from MS support, this is what I've done so far:

1.) Shutdown the newly installed SQL server (on serverB).
2.) Start SQL server in single-user mode (with sqlservr -c -m ).
3.) Connect with Query Analyzer and issue the following command:

restore database master from disk = 'C:\MSSQL\backups\New Folder\masterBackup.bak'
with
move 'master' to 'C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL\Data\master.mdf' ,
move 'mastlog' to 'C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL\Data\mastlog.ldf' ,
replace

(This execute successfully and SQL server shutsdown automatically as expected).

4.) Start SQL server (with sqlservr -c -f -T3608)
5.) Connect with Query Analyzer and issue the following command(s):

update sysdatabases set filename='C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL\Data\tempdb.mdf' where name='tempdb'

(This execute successfully)

alter database tempdb modify file (name = tempdev, filename = 'C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL\Data\tempdb.mdf')