SQL 2008 vs Access 2010

Last Post 19 Mar 2013 05:51 AM by Marc. 2 Replies.
AddThis - Bookmarking and Sharing Button
Author Messages
Marc

--
15 Mar 2013 11:20 AM
I am new to SQL server and new to this job. Where I work we have both database products SQL 2008 and Access 2010. The programmers have created a couple of web interfaces allowing users to create their own queries and generate some canned reports like number of users or books in the last month etc. The long time admin here though is very resistant to us having the programmers do more of this type of thing. He states that SQL server 2008 isnt made to do custom queries and reports and that users dont have SQL client on their desktop so it doesnt make sense. He says seeing how all users have a copy of Acess 2010 it is better for him to pull the tables they need and import into Access and let the users create their own reports. I honestly am just starting out with SQL but I am inclined to believe this isnt quite true. If we have already created a couple of web pages where users can go and select certain fields from a table and create a query why couldnt we do more of this? Is he correct in stating that Access can do complex queries and reports but not SQL server 2008?? This is an enterprise product and I cant imagine it has less capability than Access 2010 in that regard. How many web interfaces could we create and can multiple users access these at the same time? I am pretty sure they can but not 100%. I just want to have more facts before I get into this disagreement about whether we should use SQL and the capabilites this product provides versus Access 2010.
I dont quite unerstand why he is so resistant on automating our environment even more?
Any help about this would be greatly appreciated.
PS. neither of us are DBA, but I am in my first online course and trying to learn all I can.
I sincerely appreciate any advice on this matter
thanks
Marc
gunneyk

--
15 Mar 2013 05:00 PM